The Woes of Being (Nearly) OCD

I am obsessive.

If there is something out of order, I have to fix it. If something is crooked, I must straighten it. If a blanket is slightly wrinkled, I must un-wrinkle it. These things bother me to an unbelievable degree.

That said, I must share with you that there is something in my office that drives me nuts. Every. Single. Day. And there is nothing I can do about it.

20140103-104105.jpg

Can you see it? (Hint: it is not the box of face masks. I straightened it after I took the photos.)

20140103-104222.jpg

See it yet?

20140103-104312.jpg

Ughhhhhh, oh, ow! It hurts, it hurts! Make it stop!

The real problem is that I can’t do anything about it. You see, the pictures aren’t crooked — they’ve been situated on the wall ever so slightly off-line from one another. And they are screwed into the wall. And I’m not allowed to do any sort of maintenance to this building. So I can’t fix it.

Just so you understand how much I have to look at these pictures, you have to understand where my desk is situated. This is the view of my desk, looking out from the skewed pictures:

20140103-104849.jpg

I literally have to work at NOT STARING AT IT ALL DAY, EVERY DAY.

Ugh!!

20140103-105200.jpg

The view looking from my desk. Ugh!!!!!!

11 thoughts on “The Woes of Being (Nearly) OCD

    1. Unfortunately there’s not. I can’t even take the pictures down off the wall! :-/

      I can’t tell you how good it is to know I’m not the only one this would annoy. It really is bad. At least the other pictures I can set aright — I don’t know why they’ve secured these two in the manner they have!

      Like

Have something to say?

