Egg Comparison

Have you ever wondered why those crazy people insist upon getting eggs from pastured chickens who are treated humanely, or those other crazy people who (gasp!) raise their own eggs from their own happy chickens?

I can show you why.

First, here is a photo of an egg from one of our Americauna chickens, who you’ve seen grow up on this blog:

2015/01/img_3825.jpg
Americaunas lay blue eggs. It is really, really cool.

Next we have the same Americauna egg, with an egg laid by one of our own Australorps, which are the black chickens you’ve seen here on my blog.

2015/01/img_3826.jpg
Australorps lay brown eggs. They taste slightly richer than the Americauna’s.

Finally, you will have no trouble seeing what a standard, grocery store, mistreated chicken’s egg looks like. I don’t even need to tell you which one it is.

2015/01/img_3827.jpg
Whaaaaaat?!

Yeah, the store egg looks almost … sick.

So now you know, at least here in our country, why we seek expensive eggs… and even raise our own.

10 thoughts on “Egg Comparison

  1. Yep they look richer taste better and even though you can’t tell in the picture the store bought egg white looked kind of cloudy whole the others were almost clear. I think I’ll take the fresh eggs from the happy chickens.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow. I’m sold on the idea. We aren’t allowed to keep chickens here in town, but I’ll look for happy chicken eggs … We usually get omega-3 eggs, but that doesn’t mean the chickens were happy.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nasty! What kind of fowl laid the pale egg? I’m far from an egg expert, but is it possible that particular fowl typically lays pale eggs? It also looks larger (at least to my eye). I don’t eat eggs, so I don’t really know I’m talking about.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The pale-yolked egg is from your standard, run of the mill grocery store carton egg. These are the eggs that most people by because they are the cheapest. The yoke color being more pale indicates that there is far less nutrition contained within it. Farm eggs from pastured hens who are happy and spend a lot of time in the sun have actually been proven to contain up to twice as much in the way of nutrition as standard store-bought eggs.store-bought eggs often contain very little in the way of vitamin D, because of the very small amount of time — if any — that the hen spends in the sun. The store-bought egg is definitely quite a bit larger. The variety of hens that we are raising here are known for laying medium-size eggs. That’s okay with me, I’ll take smaller eggs with more nutrition any day.

      Like

      1. Most grocery stores would probably prefer to sell cheap, larger, less nutritious eggs. Who knows what else is in them, right? Steroids, growth hormones, bizarre things unknown to the general public…for now on, everytime I see a pale yolk — I’m going to be mortified. Thanks!!! haha

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I’d much rather eat any food that I raised myself than what is sold in grocery stores. Too bad I’m limited in what I can raise because of zoning regulations. And also my brown thumb.

    Liked by 1 person

Have something to say?

