Beer Review: Unibroue Terrible

Today we took a trip to World Market to get a birthday gift for a friend.

Which (naturally) means I get to buy a pint of beer to try!!

The choice for today is Unibroue Terrible.  

Wait – is that a Unibroue or a mustache? It’s both.

It is described on the bottle as, “Bottle Refermented – Dark Ale on Lees Ale Brewed with Spices”. What does that even mean? I don’t have a clue.

I can tell you what I do know:

I like it. It is very dark in color but not so strong as I expected. It has a hint of fruity tang with some veiled spices in there. Possibly some vanilla?

Here’s the odd bit. I liked it more on the first sip than the last. Don’t get me wrong, it’s not like I came to DISlike it — but for some weird reason my mouth went from I LOVE THIS!!!!!!!! to … meh.

All in all I would give it a solid 8. Definitely satisfying enough that I wouldn’t want to have more than a small glass. 

Plus, what a great name!

4 thoughts on “Beer Review: Unibroue Terrible

  1. Julie O.

    Yay! Unibroue is from my old neck of the woods (Quebec). I love practically all their products. Especially their ’17’ (which won some kind of world championship; they only brew it once a year and you can cellar it for a few years, so grab it if you see it), Fin du Monde (‘End of the world’), Maudite (“Damned”) and Blanche de Chambly (a white beer).

    Liked by 1 person

Have something to say?

